Tuesday, August 4, 2009


No season can start without setting our sights on Heisman Trophy candidates. I know that it is essentially a three man race, barring an unexpected meltdown or unexpected phenomenal record shattering performance by someone else. But what is fun about a three man race in August? This list looks beyond the big three and will track each players' performance until they are reasonably eliminated from the race throughout the season.

Tim Tebow, Florida

Colt McCoy, Texas

Sam Bradford, Oklahoma

Max Hall, BYU

Jevan Snead, Ole Miss

Javhid Best, Cal

Terrell Pryor, Ohio State

Daryl Clark, Penn State

Jaquizz Rodgers, Oregon State

Kellen Moore, Boise State

Tyrod Taylor, Virginia Tech

Jimmy Clausen, Notre Dame

Eric Barry, Tennessee

One of the Oklahoma State trio (Zac Robinson, Kendall Hunter, Dez Bryant)

PRE-SEASON PREDICTION: Of the big three, Colt McCoy is the only one not to win yet, which should play to his advantage. The recent trend has been to spread the wealth with awards. However, something about McCoy does not scream Heisman Trophy winner to me. His accuracy is out of this world, but unless he goes over 4,000 yards and 40 touchdowns I don't feel comfortable predicting him as the winner. Besides, there seems to be a growing movement among voters that they want to be part of history by awarding Tim Tebow with a second trophy. Tebow has a 70% chance of making history as the second two-time winner. If he guides the Gators to the National Championship game and he throws for over 3,000 yards the trophy is his. Sam Bradford will suffer from stats that don't match his campaign last year, just as Tebow suffered last year. Matching his stat line from last year will be virtually impossible with a new offensive line. He will be in the discussion all year, but he is almost certain to continue the trend of 1st to 3rd place finish (Ty Detmer, 1990 and 1991, Jason White, 2003 and 2004, Matt Leinart, 2004 and 2005, and Tim Tebow, 2007 and 2008). I cannot imagine this Florida Gators squad, under Tebow's leadership, stumbling along the way to the National Championship game, so I predict Tebow will be crowned the 2009 Most Outstanding College Football Player.

No comments:

Post a Comment